hate these ads?, log in or register to hide them
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 64

Thread: [Devblog] Eve launcher issues

  1. #41
    Movember 2012 Stoffl's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Location
    The original viennese waffle
    Posts
    5,213
    Quote Originally Posted by Smuggo View Post
    Sounds like effort.


    Actually it's exactly the opposite.
    Setting everything up once to avoid :effort:

    You know me, Im all about avoiding effort.
    SUN SUN SUN SUN SUN SUN SUN SUN SUN
    13 hours and I've only learned one thing: you can't jerk off dead butterflies.

  2. #42
    Mashie Saldana's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Location
    Peterborough, UK
    Posts
    709
    Quote Originally Posted by Smuggo View Post
    Why so many sore butts about this launcher?
    Maybe it is breaking some bots?

  3. #43

    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Location
    Pizza delivery van
    Posts
    3,476
    The launcher just doesn't add anything usable to a player, and that is why I think it is getting all the negative rep. I see absolutely no reason to have it pop up unless the client needs attention in some way, be it that "I'm fuxored, run repair tool" or a patch.

  4. #44

    Join Date
    June 30, 2011
    Posts
    140
    My only complaint is the lack of proxy support, had to add like 5 different routes just to get the stupid thing to work when behind a restrictive firewall.

  5. #45
    smagd's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 12, 2011
    Location
    https://duckduckgo.com
    Posts
    1,323
    Problems I have with the launcher:

    1) The launcher removed the downloadable patches, so I can't download them from work. I may now have to download the full patch every time it's more than say 100 MB.
    2) That python exception kept me from downloading the 150 MB without baby sitting it every couple of minutes.
    3) The process to upgrade the new patch is fairly annoying if the download breaks somewhere. At one point I had three separate clients downloading things one after the other.

    What I like is that it seems to keep partial downloads: Woot, FTP restart makes it into the EVE patcher 27 years late.

    Maybe the upside of this is that the launcher will get me to fix my internet instead of whining.
    Quote Originally Posted by dstopia
    WHERE IS CCP AND WHAT HAVE YOU DONE WITH THEM?????

  6. #46
    Daneel Trevize's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Posts
    9,594
    Actually you can import and export patches. Use the launcher at work to produce the files, and at home to use them?

    And it's not FTP restart, it's ZSync, so it's only downloading differences too.

  7. #47
    Chakrai's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 9, 2011
    Posts
    1,819
    No connection could be made to the content server. Please make sure that your Internet connection is up and restart the Launcher.
    <3 CCP.

  8. #48
    Ampoliros's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Location
    Aperture Harmonics
    Posts
    1,013
    btw, for my macbros:

    Quote Originally Posted by CCP Donut Golem
    Quote Originally Posted by Divi Filus
    Quote Originally Posted by CCP Cascade

    The system resouces used by the Launcher shouldn't affect you when running the game as you have the option to make it close the game after starting. You also have the option to make it only show up when there is an update.
    Just to be perfectly clear, Mac users do not have this option - possibly because we're still stuck with version 1.04. for God knows why because nobody at CCP is saying.
    Hi, we're looking at doing a Mac patch early next week. I can't confirm that we'll be including usability fixes as you mention, it may be a patch purely dedicated to error fixing. That said, we're actively looking at small, niggling issues on both platforms.

  9. #49
    Mr Marram's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 9, 2011
    Location
    Oxford, UK
    Posts
    2,952
    Patched my laptop during the week on average 1mb/s line at college, took a while ....
    Get home and am patching on 3mb/s line and its SUPER FUCKING SLOW STILL, stupid launcher, y u so bad?


    IS-4, T110E5, T-54, E-50, IS-8, M103, T34, Type 59, M26 Pershing, AMX 13 90, KV-3, SU-122-44, AMX AC Mle. 1946, SU-101, T20, T71, T25/2, KV-1S, T21, Jgdpzr IV, Sherman E8, GW Panther, AMX 12t, M18, Stug III, T-50-2, T-34, PzIV, ELC AMX, Crusader, Covenanter, SU-26, T1, RenaultFT.

  10. #50
    AnzacPaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 23, 2011
    Location
    ɹǝpun uʍop
    Posts
    199
    Quote Originally Posted by Stoffl View Post
    I dont actually have multiple physical installs on my SSD, but multiple symbolic link folders pointing to the same install.

    Why ?
    Different configs meight. I run a multi monitor setup and If I want a client to launch on a specific monitor I choose the specific "install".
    Also who needs the graphics cranked up to 11 on a Client that's just used as a scouting alt, or market alt, whatever. Or sound ? Who needs sound on a Client that's always docked, it's just annoying.

    Care to share brosef?

  11. #51
    Donor LoudSpeakly's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 13, 2011
    Location
    AM Radio
    Posts
    614
    I'm at work but y'all are pretty smart, you can fill in anything I've missed. you need to do this from the command prompt, Explorer can't do this at the moment.

    Assuming EVE is installed to C:\Program Files\EVE ...

    Start -> Run -> cmd

    Code:
    C:\Windows\system32>cd "\Program Files"
    
    C:\Program Files>mklink /D EVEAcct1 EVE
    symbolic link created for EVEAcct1 <<===>> EVE
    
    C:\Program Files>mklink /D EVEAcct2 EVE
    symbolic link created for EVEAcct2 <<===>> EVE
    
    C:\Program Files>mklink /D EVEAcct3 EVE
    symbolic link created for EVEAcct3 <<===>> EVE
    
    C:\Program Files>
    Now create three new shortcuts on your desktop, the targets being:
    C:\Program Files\EveAcct1\ExeFile.exe
    C:\Program Files\EveAcct2\ExeFile.exe
    C:\Program Files\EveAcct3\ExeFile.exe
    Or replace ExeFile.exe with whatever program launches EVE nowadays. I wouldn't know... unsubbed etc.

    Each one of these shortcuts will now launch EVE as though it was a new installation, EULA and all. Any changes you make to configuration on one of them will not affect the others. When it comes major patch time, you'll only need to download it once from any of the three shortcuts and all of them benefit. Client updates on the other hand will need to be run on each of them.

    That said, with the new launcher thingy I dunno if it fucks up this system.

  12. #52
    Movember 2012 Stoffl's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Location
    The original viennese waffle
    Posts
    5,213
    Quote Originally Posted by LoudSpeakly View Post

    :Tutorial:

    That said, with the new launcher thingy I dunno if it fucks up this system.
    Nope, still works.

    And for the lazy http://schinagl.priv.at/nt/hardlinks...extension.html
    SUN SUN SUN SUN SUN SUN SUN SUN SUN
    13 hours and I've only learned one thing: you can't jerk off dead butterflies.

  13. #53
    Lady Spank's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 12, 2011
    Location
    Placid
    Posts
    2,449
    Hell, if I can manage it I'm sure most people here can.

  14. #54
    Lana Torrin's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 13, 2011
    Location
    Bonding around
    Posts
    14,025
    Quote Originally Posted by Lady Spank View Post
    Hell, if I can manage it I'm sure most people here can.
    This will ne the nicest thing I ever say about you..

    Don't underestimate your own ability. You are way smarter than the average. (except posting your would be girlfriends web site with her email address on it)
    Quote Originally Posted by lubica
    And her name was Limul Azgoden, a lowly peasant girl.

  15. #55
    Lady Spank's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 12, 2011
    Location
    Placid
    Posts
    2,449
    Get back in game so I can wardec you again ♥

  16. #56
    AnzacPaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 23, 2011
    Location
    ɹǝpun uʍop
    Posts
    199
    Quote Originally Posted by LoudSpeakly View Post
    STUFF
    Thanks for adding reputation to this user. May you be lucky enough to receive the same Reputation back in turn.

  17. #57

    Join Date
    April 11, 2011
    Posts
    2,338
    man, linux install fubur somehow even after doing stuff with library stuff as suggested on forums. Launcher definitely stupid....

  18. #58
    Rakshasa The Cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 18, 2011
    Location
    Jita 4-4
    Posts
    4,708
    Anyone else MAC specific that have noticed that it keeps downloading the same patches every time the launcher is launched?

    (I'd make a eve forum post about it, but banned so fffff)
    Quote Originally Posted by Random hopeful w-space dweller
    I'm excited about the nebulas, at least it's something I will see out in the wormholes.

  19. #59

    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Location
    Pizza delivery van
    Posts
    3,476
    Quote Originally Posted by Rakshasa The Cat View Post
    Anyone else MAC specific that have noticed that it keeps downloading the same patches every time the launcher is launched?

    (I'd make a eve forum post about it, but banned so fffff)
    Be glad that each patch doesn't cost 19,99?

  20. #60

    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Location
    Pizza delivery van
    Posts
    3,476
    Quote Originally Posted by Rakshasa The Cat View Post
    Anyone else MAC specific that have noticed that it keeps downloading the same patches every time the launcher is launched?

    (I'd make a eve forum post about it, but banned so fffff)
    Be glad that each patch doesn't cost 19,99?

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •