hate these ads?, log in or register to hide them
Page 142 of 142 FirstFirst ... 4292132139140141142
Results 2,821 to 2,840 of 2840

Thread: What Video Card Should I Buy?

  1. #2821
    XenosisMk4's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 13, 2017
    Location
    More turbo-lightspeed neoliberal platitudes/virtue signaling/misplaced priorities on full display.
    Posts
    1,553
    Quote Originally Posted by Aea View Post
    Well, Amazon didn't cancel the order fast enough. Do I roll with the 1060 3GB? I'm leaning towards ye.
    You're going to get extremely bored of only having 3GB of VRAM

  2. #2822
    Donor Aea's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 13, 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    13,898
    Well then Iíll just buy a better card in 18 months.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #2823

    Join Date
    November 5, 2011
    Posts
    9,034
    Confirming 3gb 1060 is misery, I own one

    Even at 1080p you run into issues with new games, at 1600p you're fucked.

    Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

  4. #2824
    Donor Pattern's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 9, 2011
    Posts
    6,276
    What's next, and when for team green?

  5. #2825

    Join Date
    April 18, 2011
    Posts
    2,378
    It's Volta and it was first said to be announced in Q4-17 but they might have pushed that back seeing how Vega is only just competing with the regular 1080. And I suppose HBM2 supply will have increased by then as well.

  6. #2826
    Donor Pattern's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 9, 2011
    Posts
    6,276
    How much improvement will a 1180 be over a 1080 or 1080 ti?

    5%? Or another massive 30-50% performance increase again?

  7. #2827
    Donor Aea's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 13, 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    13,898
    Quote Originally Posted by Isyel View Post
    Confirming 3gb 1060 is misery, I own one

    Even at 1080p you run into issues with new games, at 1600p you're fucked.

    Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
    Can confirm I traded it for something with a bit more oomph.

  8. #2828
    Movember 2011Movember 2012 Nordstern's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Posts
    8,410
    Something wonky going on with AMD's 17.10.2 drivers. On Windows 7, had issues installing and rebooting, but seems to be fine now. On Windows 10, it installed fine but also had issues with rebooting, now getting random crashes with the driver that require restart. Also occasionally get blank screens on startup, necessitating a hard reboot.
    "Holy shit, I ask you to stop being autistic and you debate what autistic is." - spasm
    Quote Originally Posted by Larkonis Trassler View Post
    WTF I hate white people now...

  9. #2829
    VARRAKK's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 27, 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4,569
    As a nVidia user, I can confirm there is no issues with latest drivers.

  10. #2830

    Join Date
    April 18, 2011
    Posts
    2,378
    Quote Originally Posted by VARRAKK View Post
    As a nVidia user, I can confirm there is no issues with latest drivers.
    Just don't play Wolfenstein.

  11. #2831
    Omega Supreme's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 9, 2011
    Posts
    6,412
    Quote Originally Posted by VARRAKK View Post
    As a nVidia user, I can confirm there is no issues with latest drivers.
    Unless you like playing OpenGL. In which case LOL.

    Multiple people are unable to play OpenGL games if they use drivers for 9xx or 10xx newer than 385.69.

  12. #2832
    XenosisMk4's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 13, 2017
    Location
    More turbo-lightspeed neoliberal platitudes/virtue signaling/misplaced priorities on full display.
    Posts
    1,553
    Quote Originally Posted by Omega Supreme View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by VARRAKK View Post
    As a nVidia user, I can confirm there is no issues with latest drivers.
    Unless you like playing OpenGL. In which case LOL.

    Multiple people are unable to play OpenGL games if they use drivers for 9xx or 10xx newer than 385.69.
    PCSX2 runs fine using OpenGL for me

    Was literally playing Shinobido last night

    Also Wolfenstein runs fine too, idk
    Last edited by XenosisMk4; November 2 2017 at 02:54:33 PM.

  13. #2833
    Omega Supreme's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 9, 2011
    Posts
    6,412
    ANything newer than 385.69 breaks Neverwinter Nights, a game with 500+ people on at all times. Massive visual errors, etc.

    It's caused major issues since a driving point of the game in 2017 is user-created content that's updated frequently, hence the problems from having Nvidia drivers buttfucking it.

  14. #2834
    XenosisMk4's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 13, 2017
    Location
    More turbo-lightspeed neoliberal platitudes/virtue signaling/misplaced priorities on full display.
    Posts
    1,553
    Quote Originally Posted by Omega Supreme View Post
    ANything newer than 385.69 breaks Neverwinter Nights, a game with 500+ people on at all times. Massive visual errors, etc.

    It's caused major issues since a driving point of the game in 2017 is user-created content that's updated frequently, hence the problems from having Nvidia drivers buttfucking it.


    Works fine for me on 386.10

    I watched the entire opening "cutscene" too

    As for OpenGL working proof:

      Spoiler:
    Weebshit below
      Spoiler:


    I'm on the tip top version of windows/nvidia/everything else, so idk
    Last edited by XenosisMk4; November 2 2017 at 06:32:37 PM.

  15. #2835
    Omega Supreme's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 9, 2011
    Posts
    6,412
    That looks like the default game, without hakpaks (mods for TES players).

    Try it with mods, then get back to me.

    Seeing as most servers incorporate hakpaks which glitch heavily with drivers newer than 385.69, you can see the problem. I saw it personally happening with a GTX 970, others reported it happening with 10xx.

  16. #2836
    XenosisMk4's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 13, 2017
    Location
    More turbo-lightspeed neoliberal platitudes/virtue signaling/misplaced priorities on full display.
    Posts
    1,553
    Quote Originally Posted by Omega Supreme View Post
    That looks like the default game, without hakpaks (mods for TES players).

    Try it with mods, then get back to me.

    Seeing as most servers incorporate hakpaks which glitch heavily with drivers newer than 385.69, you can see the problem. I saw it personally happening with a GTX 970, others reported it happening with 10xx.
    Well... to be honest Nvidia isn't responsible for keeping modded servers for a 15 year old game working

  17. #2837

    Join Date
    April 18, 2011
    Posts
    2,378
    Quote Originally Posted by XenosisMk4 View Post

    Also Wolfenstein runs fine too, idk
    It got hotfixed the day after release. Basically changing any graphics setting in game would result in a reboot of the entire system. A co-worker had a lot of fun with that one.

  18. #2838
    XenosisMk4's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 13, 2017
    Location
    More turbo-lightspeed neoliberal platitudes/virtue signaling/misplaced priorities on full display.
    Posts
    1,553
    Quote Originally Posted by Spartan Dax View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by XenosisMk4 View Post

    Also Wolfenstein runs fine too, idk
    It got hotfixed the day after release. Basically changing any graphics setting in game would result in a reboot of the entire system. A co-worker had a lot of fun with that one.
    I had the same issue, very odd

  19. #2839
    Movember 2011Movember 2012 Nordstern's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Posts
    8,410
    Either the newest AMD drivers don't like Crossfire setups, or my second card is dying. I opened up the Wattman tab for my first card and all is fine. Open the Wattman tab for the second card, BSOD. Happened twice.

    So, I may just bite the bullet and buy a RX580 or Vega. These cards require 8-pin connectors, but I only have 2 6-pin connectors on my PSU. Can I get away with those, or do I need to buy an adapter?
    "Holy shit, I ask you to stop being autistic and you debate what autistic is." - spasm
    Quote Originally Posted by Larkonis Trassler View Post
    WTF I hate white people now...

  20. #2840

    Join Date
    April 18, 2011
    Posts
    2,378
    Quote Originally Posted by Nordstern View Post
    Either the newest AMD drivers don't like Crossfire setups, or my second card is dying. I opened up the Wattman tab for my first card and all is fine. Open the Wattman tab for the second card, BSOD. Happened twice.

    So, I may just bite the bullet and buy a RX580 or Vega. These cards require 8-pin connectors, but I only have 2 6-pin connectors on my PSU. Can I get away with those, or do I need to buy an adapter?
    The answer is _maybe_. The 6 pin cable delivers 75w while the 8 pin delivers 150w so I'd say a Vega is out of the question but the 480's came with 6 pin connectors on a fair amount of cards so you'll probably get away with using an adapter if it has an 8 pin connector. In fact you might not even need the adapter to begin with.

    http://www.playtool.com/pages/psucon...tml#pciexpress

    6 to 8 pin adapters should be available at any well sorted store.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •