hate these ads?, log in or register to hide them
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Router Recommendations?

  1. #1
    Donor Pattern's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 9, 2011
    Posts
    7,008

    Router Recommendations?

    I need to set my Virgin hub to pass through as the wifi performance/coverage is shocking in my house.

    Has anyone got recommendations for a wifi hub/router? I've got cat6 running to the office, but in many points of the house, I'm using 4g on my phone because the connection is flaky.

  2. #2
    Movember 2011Movember 2012 Nordstern's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Posts
    10,649
    Netgear Nighthawk, I guess?

    The problem might be that you're trying to use 5 GHz instead of 2.4 GHz. 5 GHz is faster but has less penetration and range.
    "Holy shit, I ask you to stop being autistic and you debate what autistic is." - spasm
    Quote Originally Posted by Larkonis Trassler View Post
    WTF I hate white people now...

  3. #3
    VARRAKK's Avatar
    Join Date
    September 27, 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    6,284
    Quote Originally Posted by Nordstern View Post
    Netgear Nighthawk, I guess?

    The problem might be that you're trying to use 5 GHz instead of 2.4 GHz. 5 GHz is faster but has less penetration and range.
    ^^ What he said.

    I got a ASUS AC-3200 router, very happy with it.
    They are also very quick with updates when something needs patching.
    The Epic Store is amazing, I've been able to save so much money by not buying their games.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    May 31, 2011
    Posts
    4,809
    AVM. Perhaps the better known household name is their kits' name Fritz!Box

    Stable as hell (I've been using their products since > 2 decades). Quick updates, even for their older (no longer sold) product lines, if needed. Also, their products do work good together, e.g. I run some PowerLine adapters to bridge walls. You can manage those from within the router's admin interface. If you prefer that type of thing, there are also some Android apps interacting with the devices available.

  5. #5
    Cosmin's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 14, 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,734
    My Nighthawk R7000 requires a reboot every once in a blue moon but other than that it's rock stable in all the years I've had it (kinda lost count, it's way out of warranty). Still receives OTA updates for the firmware which are click and go, lots of configurable options and what not and the signal could reach the parking area through several walls if properly positioned (not interested in properly positioning it for that tho ).
    Guns make the news, science doesn't.

  6. #6
    Duckslayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    October 23, 2017
    Posts
    1,699
    Quote Originally Posted by Pattern View Post
    I need to set my Virgin hub to pass through as the wifi performance/coverage is shocking in my house.

    Has anyone got recommendations for a wifi hub/router? I've got cat6 running to the office, but in many points of the house, I'm using 4g on my phone because the connection is flaky.
    Id recommend Ubiquiti Unifi Access points to cover wifi shitness in a property.

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Ubiquiti-Ne...5CXS7PNNE5RXVH

  7. #7
    Straight Hustlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 14, 2011
    Posts
    10,587
    Linksys ACM-3200, love mine and it's ddwrt friendly right out of the box

    Sent from my Moto Z2 Play using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Mashie Saldana's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Location
    Peterborough, UK
    Posts
    1,084
    I have a full Ubiquiti UniFi setup at home. The WiFi signal goes beyond the garden.
    How to tell the difference between Machine Learning and AI:
    If it is written in Python it is most likely Machine Learning.
    If it is written in PowerPoint it is most likely AI.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    April 14, 2011
    Posts
    7,274
    Quote Originally Posted by Duckslayer View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Pattern View Post
    I need to set my Virgin hub to pass through as the wifi performance/coverage is shocking in my house.

    Has anyone got recommendations for a wifi hub/router? I've got cat6 running to the office, but in many points of the house, I'm using 4g on my phone because the connection is flaky.
    Id recommend Ubiquiti Unifi Access points to cover wifi shitness in a property.

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Ubiquiti-Ne...5CXS7PNNE5RXVH
    Plus one. Everyone at work (including me) swears by Ubiquiti stuff now. We mostly use the Unifi stuff because we can piggyback on work's orders, but the AmpliFi home gear is supposed to be just as good. Plug in mesh extenders and a shiny box. Dead simple.

    FWIW if the virgin super hub isn't doing it for coverage, just replacing it with another wifi AP won't do much different. They're cranking out max power and they're (whisper it quietly) actually quite good at pointing it in the right direction. You're probably just best off getting a powerline extender instead of dropping several hundred quid on a soho network setup.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    May 31, 2011
    Posts
    4,809

  11. #11
    Donor erichkknaar's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Posts
    13,845
    Quote Originally Posted by Hel OWeen View Post
    The "don't tinker at home" mantra in here is good.

    If you have the power for it, I can recommend power line. I throw my wifi network to a detached building on my property with it. Works well. You do need relatively clean power though.
    meh

  12. #12
    Donor Pattern's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 9, 2011
    Posts
    7,008
    Zero 5ghz signal in certain corners of the 1st floor, 2ghz signal is at best, 20mbps, completely dropping out at the other end.

    Haven't had the greatest of luck with powerlines.

  13. #13
    Joe Appleby's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 9, 2011
    Location
    in front of the class
    Posts
    14,777
    Quote Originally Posted by Hel OWeen View Post
    AVM. Perhaps the better known household name is their kits' name Fritz!Box

    Stable as hell (I've been using their products since > 2 decades). Quick updates, even for their older (no longer sold) product lines, if needed. Also, their products do work good together, e.g. I run some PowerLine adapters to bridge walls. You can manage those from within the router's admin interface. If you prefer that type of thing, there are also some Android apps interacting with the devices available.
    Seconded. Also been using their stuff since the days of ISDN.

    Tapapapatalk
    nevar forget

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •