hate these ads?, log in or register to hide them
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Laptop won't start

  1. #1
    Phrixus Zephyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Location
    Queenstown, NZ
    Posts
    3,531

    Laptop won't start

    XPS 15 9550 Wont boot. It powers on, but I get nothing on the screen and after about 30 seconds the fans spin up and then it turns off.

    D + power does the display test but that's the only thing that works.

    Id just done a major Windows 10 update an hour before but it had already been rebooted a couple of time for drivers.

    I was following the instructions from the below link for a modded realtek driver installation, I got to step 3 and it wouldn't turn back on.

    https://amp.reddit.com/r/Dell/commen...rom%20%251%24s

    Sent from my H8324 using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    SteeleResolve's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 13, 2011
    Posts
    3,438
    Dead mobo/psu or corrupted firmware?

    Warranty?

  3. #3
    Cosmin's Avatar
    Join Date
    March 14, 2012
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,734
    Can you safe mode it?

    Can you run the Dell diagnostics from the BIOS? Iirc they have a p. comprehensive tool to see if it's a hardware issue and it runs directly from the BIOS.

    Running the ePSA Diagnostics
    Invoke diagnostics boot by either of the methods that are suggested below:
    1 Power on the computer.
    2 As the computer boots, press the F12 key when the Dell logo is displayed.
    3 In the boot menu screen, use Up/Down arrow key to select the Diagnostics option and then press Enter.
    NOTE: The Enhanced Pre-boot System Assessment window displays, listing all devices detected in the computer. The
    diagnostics starts running the tests on all the detected devices.
    4 Press the arrow in the lower-right corner to go to the page listing.
    The detected items are listed and tested.
    5 To run a diagnostic test on a speci€c device, press Esc and click Yes to stop the diagnostic test.
    6 Select the device from the left pane and click Run Tests.
    7 If there are any issues, error codes are displayed.
    Note the error code and contact Dell.
    If everything passes, then it's a software issue and with the current Windows 10 shenanigans I hope you have a backup.
    Guns make the news, science doesn't.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    May 31, 2011
    Posts
    4,805
    I don't think any of this applies, if I look at the linked Reddit thread which talks about using BCDEdit:

    BCDEdit is a command-line tool for managing Boot Configuration Data (BCD).
    I think he screwed it up there and needs to reverse it, most likely with booting into Safe mode as outlined here: https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/...a.html#option6

  5. #5
    Phrixus Zephyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Location
    Queenstown, NZ
    Posts
    3,531
    Out of warranty. Can't access anything other than the display test. F12 into bios and the diagnostic shortcut does nothing. It's just a black scree.

    I did think it was the bcdedit, but I copy pasted the commands so I'm not sure why that would have done what it's doing.

    I can't boot into safe mode either so the only thing I can think to try is do it from a USB, but if its displaying literally nothing I'm not sure that's going to work either.

    I don't know what else to do if it won't display anything at all.

    Sent from my H8324 using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Phrixus Zephyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Location
    Queenstown, NZ
    Posts
    3,531
    Did a cmos battery reset. I get the right light codes for it but then it just goes back to not doing anything and then turning off.

    Sent from my H8324 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Phrixus Zephyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Location
    Queenstown, NZ
    Posts
    3,531
    Dell are gonna send a technician for free. As far as they're aware I just updated bios and windows just before it stopped working.

    Sent from my H8324 using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Donor Sparq's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 11, 2011
    Location
    Strayastan
    Posts
    9,815
    Quote Originally Posted by Phrixus Zephyr View Post
    As far as they're aware I just updated bios and windows just before it stopped working.

  9. #9
    Phrixus Zephyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Location
    Queenstown, NZ
    Posts
    3,531
    Forgot to update. I spoke to support and without me even kicking off they sent a repair guy round the nexy day who replaced the motherboard for free.

    Im about 18 months out of waranty and this is after they had previously made me pay for a new battery that had failed 9 months earlier.

    Unless the mobo has its own extended warranty I'm going with "known issue"

    Sent from my H8324 using Tapatalk
    Last edited by Phrixus Zephyr; February 6 2019 at 03:05:51 AM.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    November 11, 2019
    Posts
    1
    You can also reinstall clean Windows 10 on your laptop if you want.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •