hate these ads?, log in or register to hide them

Thread: [Devblog] Developer Spotlight: Sean Wang - CCP Lancer

Super Moderator Global Moderator QuackBot's Avatar

Post [Devblog] Developer Spotlight: Sean Wang - CCP Lancer

Welcome back to another Developer Spotlight from CCP Shanghai! This time we sit down with Sean “CCP Lancer” Wang, one of the programmers in charge of many of the features that you use every single day. What is your official job title with CCP? Programmer. Short and simple. What does the job actually entail? Programming. Actually, currently I am a client programmer. I focus a lot on developing new features people can directly interact with, like the user interface that you will see in Uprising 1.3, for example. I also do some programming on the backend to collect game information that I can compile and present in a meaningful way to the team. What were you up to before you got the job with CCP? Before joining CCP, I worked in the game industry as a Flash programmer for four years. A lot of my work was on games and UIs for social networking sites, using Flash and ScaleForm as my main tools. . How did you get a job with CCP? Can you talk about the process? I played EVE Online back during my time in college. One day when I was working, a headhunter called me and asked if I was interested in a position in CCP as a UI programmer. At that time I even didn’t know CCP had an office in Shanghai. I am glad now that I got that call, and of course I accepted it. After I passed a programming test at home, I went to the office and spoke with several different people at CCP. And finally I got the lucky call! What’s your favorite part about working at CCP? An open and quiet place. Any question I have I can turn to my team mates, and there will be plenty of nice people willing to help me. Also I love the working place in general. People are focused on their tasks and it always makes the office much quieter than any office I worked in before. What’s the biggest mi