We are continuing our streak of Dev Spotlights from Team Storm Raiders! This time we are sitting down with Gu Qian, CCP Phoenix, to hear about her career as a Test Lead for DUST 514 and what she did for the game so far. What is your official job title with CCP?
I worked as a Test Lead for DUST 514 before, but at the beginning of this year, I moved to production team and became a producer!
What does the job actually entail?
When I worked in QA department, I was responsible for various features. First of all, I was mainly responsible for TRC (Technical Requirements Checklist) testing and build submission (to our partners at SONY). I’ve contributed to all releases since Closed Beta. Then, there were live events. When we received a proposal for a new live event, I would work with the teams, figure out if it’s doable, and then make it happen. I was also responsible for regular hotfixes. I collected bugs from DUST 514 Forums, Customer Support - CCP Archduke, Development - CCP Rattati and Community - CCP Frame, and went on to getting the bugs fixed and published to the live servers.
What were you up to before you got the job with CCP?
I worked for five years at Virtuos, a famous game outsourcing studio in China. I started as a junior tester and then senior tester. After that, I concentrated on certification testing, such as TRC testing for SONY, TCR testing for Microsoft, and LotCheck testing for Nintendo. Most of those projects I participated in passed Sony/Microsoft/Nintendo QA instantly, without the need to re-submit anything.
How did you get a job with CCP? Can you talk about the process?