hate these ads?, log in or register to hide them
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Power Creep, or How CCP Continually Drops the Ball

Power Creep, or How CCP Continually Drops the Ball

Let me preface by saying I've been playing this game since 2007.
    I've seen all manner of shit, and that's part of what makes the content of this post so frustrating to me.
    It doesn't matter who works at CCP, they just don't get it.

The dev team has a habit of continually BOOSTING things beyond reasonable levels, and scaling things back a year or two later.
    This is such bad design, it boggles my mind that they keep doing it.

They are so slow to react that by the time they DO nerf something, it's so heavy handed that nobody even uses the stuff anymore.
    Recent Examples: Drakes, Vagabonds, Dramiels, Falcons, HMLs.

They are so concerned about making everyone happy, and making nice with all the shit, that they lose sight of what makes the game work.

Skynet/RSB/Gate Guns
    Probably the oldest example I can give. Skynetting has been around for AGES, and CCP is only just starting to notice the problems with it.
    For those unaware, Skynet is where a figher-laden cap will distribute its ships to various members around a system. While not a new concept, the introduction of DDAs has made them much more powerful than any previous iteration. Combined with the awful gate mechanics present with RSB-Instalock camps, skynetting is a much maligned aspect of EVE that was in dire need of changing. RSB mechanics are still at large though, and there is no nerf in the foreseeable future.

In LowSec this sort of thing is a potentially bigger issue because Gate Guns are heavily exploitable.
    Currently if you take aggression on a gate, you just need to get out of gun range and come back. Those guns will never shoot you again.
    This means people can heavily camp a gate with next to no consequence from the high-damage Gate Guns.

Mordus Angels