hate these ads?, log in or register to hide them
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Idiot want to learn Java.

Idiot want to learn Java.

Do you guys have any books you recommend for the complete beginner? I know that there is a lot of online material but I'd like to have something physical as well.

-Ihatemyipad-
    Coming soon(tm).

<3 Entrox.

I was learned in Java in community college, set me up really well for rest of my life ,,,,

Quote Originally Posted by Duckslayer View Post
    I should be home.now but I keep stopping to post. I'm in need of a mega poo. so much so that I'm tempted to leave slurry across one of these gardens and deal with the wiping later. gonna toss a coin

phoneposting

Are you learning Java or learning to code?

I re-learned Java by writing an Android App, can't really recommend any books but if you're going to do a project do that IMHO.

Learning to code.
    Coming soon(tm).

<3 Entrox.

How's your understanding of computers/electronics, and maths/logic?
    Quote Originally Posted by QuackBot View Post
    Idk about that, and i'm fucking stupid.

Not impressive.
    Coming soon(tm).

<3 Entrox.

Going back ~a decade, I didn't find "An Introduction to Object-Oriented Programming with Java" by 'C. Thomas Wu' to be the worst thing as an assigned book for a 1st year comp sci degree course. But I'd already taught myself some Java and other languages, and had a solid background in A-level electronics, as well as the rest of the starting course modules covering the basics of computational theory, logic, algorithms, etc. I wouldn't pay ~50 or however much they're charging students for such things though. Fuck that, torrent a PDF, or just read the free official language intro docs & tutorials.

My general concern is that going for an OOP language might leave you ignorant of low level memory & processor details, and set you in some bad habits w.r.t. inefficient design because of the abstractions. But that wouldn't be uncommon these days...