hate these ads?, log in or register to hide them
Page 87 of 87 FirstFirst ... 377784858687
Results 1,721 to 1,738 of 1738

Thread: Windows 10: Just kidding guys, here's your start menu. I TROL U?

  1. #1721
    Tyrehl's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 9, 2011
    Location
    [STUGH] Rote Kapelle
    Posts
    3,703
    Quote Originally Posted by Saul View Post
    I remember reading a while back that defender was shit, hence getting bitdefender. Shan't bother next time. Looks like the only thing that will save me is a full windows reinstall.
    Defender is fine, MS fucks up every now and then, but nothing compared to most AV software.
    In the end a decent adblocker (uBlock Origin) and Defender are perfectly adequate at dealing with most shit (unless you open kittens.jpg.exe attachments on a regular basis).
    <Devec> hello captain Tyrehl
    <Devec> sailor of the persian seas
    Quote Originally Posted by Paradox
    I swear you are some sort of biological weapon developed in the early '90's for the Yugoslav wars but they lost track of you at some point and now you're waging a psychological war on Western Europe without a clue what you're doing.

  2. #1722
    Donor halbarad's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 9, 2011
    Posts
    4,925
    Quote Originally Posted by Tyrehl View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Saul View Post
    I remember reading a while back that defender was shit, hence getting bitdefender. Shan't bother next time. Looks like the only thing that will save me is a full windows reinstall.
    Defender is fine, MS fucks up every now and then, but nothing compared to most AV software.
    In the end a decent adblocker (uBlock Origin) and Defender are perfectly adequate at dealing with most shit (unless you open kittens.jpg.exe attachments on a regular basis).
    But what if I want to see kittens? They wouldn't just send those emails to anyone. And kittens aren't harmful, are they?

  3. #1723
    thebomby's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 9, 2011
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    6,884
    I haven't had such problems with the Fall Creators Headache, yet, but jesus almighty fuck does it take long to install.
    Будь смиренным, будь кротким, не заботься о тленном
    Власти, данной Богом, сынок, будь навеки верным...
    Я люблю Росcию, я - патриот

  4. #1724
    Saul's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Posts
    2,244
    Problem seems to be that Windows wants to use HDMI over the default audio device. It does the same with primary monitor as well, I have to force it to use the larger monitor (on the VGA connector) in the display settings.

    Have reinstalled windows this morning, all seems functional after switching the monitor primacy etc. Restored to a 2+ year old windows image though so bracing myself for more bullshittery when it decides to update itself. Will just have to avoid the fall update for as long as possible and hope they fix the issues. Luckily most of my game installs etc. are on a standard drive rather than the SSD.

  5. #1725
    root's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 26, 2011
    Location
    The Camel Empire
    Posts
    3,077
    Mhh, I never had trouble with windows10 update. I always asked me before restarting. Or gave me some kind of warning.

    From yesterday to today multiple win10 computers restartet overnight. At home at and work. Anyone got an idea why?
    The Rapier is my love boat
    ~lowsec smallscale pvp 'n stuff~

  6. #1726
    Donor
    Join Date
    April 9, 2011
    Posts
    331
    Quote Originally Posted by root View Post
    Mhh, I never had trouble with windows10 update. I always asked me before restarting. Or gave me some kind of warning.

    From yesterday to today multiple win10 computers restartet overnight. At home at and work. Anyone got an idea why?
    Fall Creators update? I finally got that yesterday.

  7. #1727
    root's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 26, 2011
    Location
    The Camel Empire
    Posts
    3,077
    No, I think I had Fall Creators update for some time now.

    Could it be security patches that got pushed in my inactive hours?
    Normally I notice it right away when it says "Update & Shutdown" in the power menu. But that was not the case the day before the restart.
    The Rapier is my love boat
    ~lowsec smallscale pvp 'n stuff~

  8. #1728
    Movember 2011Movember 2012 Nordstern's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Posts
    9,002
    It's the Feb 2018 update, my machine asked to restart as well, which is fine.
    "Holy shit, I ask you to stop being autistic and you debate what autistic is." - spasm
    Quote Originally Posted by Larkonis Trassler View Post
    WTF I hate white people now...

  9. #1729
    Tailn's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 11, 2011
    Location
    To close to London
    Posts
    4,938
    My laptop has started rebooting for every single update on its own, it is currently running 3 ark servers so this is pretty shit.

    "Kerning is serious business"
    And having an image that does not cause Autism attacks even more so.

  10. #1730

  11. #1731
    XenosisMk4's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 13, 2017
    Location
    More turbo-lightspeed neoliberal platitudes/virtue signaling/misplaced priorities on full display.
    Posts
    3,554
    mfw Windows 10 anti-monopoly "we can't run windows defender since we think you already have antivirus" keeps kicking in, except I don't have AV

    hmm

  12. #1732
    Donor Nu11u5's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 8, 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    5,454
    Did you have one installed before?

  13. #1733
    XenosisMk4's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 13, 2017
    Location
    More turbo-lightspeed neoliberal platitudes/virtue signaling/misplaced priorities on full display.
    Posts
    3,554
    Quote Originally Posted by Nu11u5 View Post
    Did you have one installed before?
    Not as far as I know, my antivirus consists of not being a moron

  14. #1734
    Daneel Trevize's Avatar
    Join Date
    April 10, 2011
    Location
    T L A
    Posts
    12,328
    So did you do something like manually set that registry flag that only an AV is meant to set, to enable those spectre/meltdown mitigations??
    Quote Originally Posted by QuackBot View Post
    Idk about that, and i'm fucking stupid.

  15. #1735
    XenosisMk4's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 13, 2017
    Location
    More turbo-lightspeed neoliberal platitudes/virtue signaling/misplaced priorities on full display.
    Posts
    3,554
    Quote Originally Posted by Daneel Trevize View Post
    So did you do something like manually set that registry flag that only an AV is meant to set, to enable those spectre/meltdown mitigations??
    Not as far as I can remember, got any directories I should check?

  16. #1736

    Join Date
    May 31, 2011
    Posts
    3,832
    Quote Originally Posted by XenosisMk4 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Daneel Trevize View Post
    So did you do something like manually set that registry flag that only an AV is meant to set, to enable those spectre/meltdown mitigations??
    Not as far as I can remember, got any directories I should check?
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...virus-software

    Code:
    REGEDIT4
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\QualityCompat\cadca5fe-87d3-4b96-b7fb-a231484277cc]
    @=dword:00000000

  17. #1737
    XenosisMk4's Avatar
    Join Date
    July 13, 2017
    Location
    More turbo-lightspeed neoliberal platitudes/virtue signaling/misplaced priorities on full display.
    Posts
    3,554
    Quote Originally Posted by Hel OWeen View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by XenosisMk4 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Daneel Trevize View Post
    So did you do something like manually set that registry flag that only an AV is meant to set, to enable those spectre/meltdown mitigations??
    Not as far as I can remember, got any directories I should check?
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...virus-software

    Code:
    REGEDIT4
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\QualityCompat\cadca5fe-87d3-4b96-b7fb-a231484277cc]
    @=dword:00000000
    Tyvm, will check that when I get home

  18. #1738
    Donor Nu11u5's Avatar
    Join Date
    June 8, 2011
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    5,454

    Windows 10: Just kidding guys, here's your start menu. I TROL U?

    That registry entry just means that the installed AV is compatible with the Meltdown patch. Even Defender will set it.


    Microsoft is currently only offering the January and February 2018 Windows security updates to devices that are running antivirus software that is from antivirus software vendors who have confirmed that their antivirus software is compatible by setting a required registry key.

    ...

    Windows Defender Antivirus, System Center Endpoint Protection, and Microsoft Security Essentials are compatible with the 2018 Windows security updates and have set the required registry key.
    The patch checks for the key as a flag for compatibility because it will cause Windows to enter a permanent blue screen loop if installed with an incompatible AV. Donít mess with it.
    Last edited by Nu11u5; February 19 2018 at 02:49:14 PM.

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •