hate these ads?, log in or register to hide them
Page 1 of 24 123411 ... LastLast

Thread: "It just works" Linux aka "Anything better than Ubuntu?"

"It just works" Linux aka "Anything better than Ubuntu?"

I've been "threatened" with the task to update my mom's computer. She's got the obvious Windows XP running and with its end-of-life, we've figured we should move on to a still supported OS.

She's the typical "pointy, clicky" kinda user and does nothing than web browsing and email, so the obvious choice is a Linux-flavored OS. Ubuntu seems to be the obvious choice. But still being an absolute beginner myself when it comes to Linux, I wonder if there's an "it-even-breaks-less-than-Ubuntu/is-easier-for-a-Windows-refugee" distribution that I'm not aware of?

Related question: once a distribution has been chosen, any recommendations to make it look/behave as XP-like as it gets? Themes or Window managers and such?

Quote Originally Posted by Hel OWeen View Post
    I've been "threatened" with the task to update my mom's computer. She's got the obvious Windows XP running and with its end-of-life, we've figured we should move on to a still supported OS.

She's the typical "pointy, clicky" kinda user and does nothing than web browsing and email, so the obvious choice is a Linux-flavored OS. Ubuntu seems to be the obvious choice. But still being an absolute beginner myself when it comes to Linux, I wonder if there's an "it-even-breaks-less-than-Ubuntu/is-easier-for-a-Windows-refugee" distribution that I'm not aware of?

Related question: once a distribution has been chosen, any recommendations to make it look/behave as XP-like as it gets? Themes or Window managers and such?