PDA

View Full Version : I think my graphics card is busted.



Dahak
May 29 2011, 02:11:40 PM
Ok, I recently got myself a brand new machine, and things have been going swimmingly...until now.

Intel i5-2500k
8 gig DDR3-1600
Nvidia GTX 460
Win 7 Pro 64

I was playing tanks when the whole screen went crazy with this checkerboard pattern. Some squares were fine, the rest were a colorful static hash. Then the display went dark and I had to restart using the power button. The device manager says about my video card "This device has been stopped because it has a problem."

While booting. (http://img543.imageshack.us/img543/6898/img20110529094803.jpg)
Trying to install latest driver. (http://img21.imageshack.us/img21/2325/img20110529095500.jpg)

So I'm pretty sure I've figured out what's wrong, but there are people more knowledgeable than I here, am I missing something?

Verizana
May 29 2011, 03:38:18 PM
you are probably correct. find out by switching your graphics card out for another (ask a friend ect)

EntroX
May 29 2011, 04:03:13 PM
vga is fucked :V

just for testing purposes, try and boot another OS (linux would be a good example), but its prob. the vga.

Bombcrater
May 29 2011, 04:14:18 PM
Yep. Card is toast, RMA time.

Verizana
May 29 2011, 07:35:10 PM
or throw it back to the shop of purchase, usually easier than sending it back straight to the manufacturer via rma.

Dahak
May 30 2011, 02:53:05 PM
For giggles I took out the card and dusted the slot, leads, etc, then plugged it back in. Then I reinstalled the drivers once more, and Windows now recognizes that it exists. Works fine for light stuff like web browsing or Minecraft (advanced OpenGL off, if it's On the driver crashes), but as soon as I try to start WoT or Starcraft or something the static checkerboard comes back. However, this time Windows stops the driver and then restarts after a short wait, and I can continue to browse the web or play Minecraft, but if I try to open the game up again...

At least those lines are gone, though.

This happened in WoT particularly where the driver would shut down every 15 seconds or so, but the game wouldn't minimize so I would get a few seconds of movement and then be frozen for a bit more again.

Edit: I also plugged the monitor into the other DVI port.

Loganbacca
May 31 2011, 10:39:00 AM
Instead of making a new thread, since my problem is fairly similar, I'll semi-hijack this thread if that's ok?

I've been getting graphics glitches much more frequently the past week, stuff like this:

http://img820.imageshack.us/img820/9803/wallpaperglitch.th.jpg (http://img820.imageshack.us/img820/9803/wallpaperglitch.jpg)

^That actually happened a month ago, but then it happened again today just before I came to post here. Interestingly it seems to be just the wallpaper that is affected as I can drag windows over top of it like this without fixing or changing the corrupted effect:

http://img717.imageshack.us/img717/3258/wallpaperglitch2.th.jpg (http://img717.imageshack.us/img717/3258/wallpaperglitch2.jpg)

Changing the wallpaper moves the corrupted band up or down, restarting the computer fixes it.

Other stuff that's been happening the past couple of days is text in window borders and menus and the like corrupt as well, like this:

http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/573/windowles.jpg

While I haven't had too many problems in games, I have had Minecraft bluescreen on me repeatedly when running advanced openGL stuff at 1080p, and the following "corrupted text" effects while playing Mass Effect:

http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/6375/masseffect.th.jpg (http://img155.imageshack.us/img155/6375/masseffect.jpg)

I'm running an ASUS Radeon HD 6870 (DC version (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121418&Tpk=asus%20hd%206870)), and I've had these problems using Catalyst 11.3, 11.4 (ASUS packaged version), and 11.5. It also happens whether the card is cool or hot. I'm running a Corsair 650w PSU, so I doubt power is the problem. I also haven't touched the clock or voltage of the card. The cards only 3 months old, and the first sign of trouble was a month ago when I took that first screenshot. The rest of my PC specs are the same as Dahak's.

Is my card also screwed? or have I overlooked something? could the problem be somewhere else like the motherboard?

Traxio Nacho
May 31 2011, 02:53:09 PM
Had a similar problem with my 7900 GTX many years ago, card was fine for low level stuff but if I had been playing Eve/C&C Generals for a while it either blue screen about drivers or the screen would go all funny with colours or what looked like different road signs.

Normally turning it off and restarting would fix the issue for a short time but same cycle after a while, was told there was a factory fault and something kept looping which caused the issue plus over heating.

Dahak
May 31 2011, 09:03:40 PM
Well, I called the computer company and explained the symptoms, they said "Have you done the usual software things to see if they worked?" instead of assuming I'm a mouth breather and making me go through all the steps. When I said I had they said "Yep, sounds like hardware. We'll send you a new one and you send back the old one."

Such a nice change from Acer.