PDA

View Full Version : [Devblog] A Message from the Executive Producer

QuackBot
October 8 2013, 04:10:04 PM
Hi everyone!
My name is Jean-Charles Gaudechon and I have the immense privilege of being the new Executive Producer of DUST 514. I'd like to briefly introduce myself and say a few words about the fantastic task at hand.
http://failheap-challenge.com//web.ccpgamescdn.com/dust/news.control/65234/1/JCGaudechon_Portrait_Small2.jpeg
I've been making games for about twelve years, and most recently MMOs. Making deep and meaningful online experiences has become my specialty, with a recent strong emphasis on first-person shooters. That said, I enjoy many different genres, and am currently having a blast with the early build of a highly classified Space Program on Steam and protecting a bad-ass little girl from zombies on PS3. But, like many of you, I often default back to a few online games that give me exactly what I want. My favorite games seem to be built on strong fiction, supported by tight gameplay mechanics, and a player-driven economy.
With DUST 514, my mission is to give you the most intense and engaging experience possible for a free-to-play online multiplayer shooter in the EVE Universe. This requires focusing primarily on the core gameplay, but also on a deep and rewarding link to EVE Online and everything that comes with it: the incredibly immersive fiction, sandbox design, best-in-class player-driven economy, and much more. This is where DUST 514 differentiates itself completely from all other shooters and is why I love the game. Features such as player trade, valuable resources transferable and useable between DUST and EVE, and new game modes that capture the sandbox nature of our game, are all building blocks towards that vision. We will be revealing more details at EVE Vegas later this month, followed by in-depth articles, developer blogs, and more.