PDA

View Full Version : [TMA] Flying Destroyers

Cue1*
February 23 2013, 05:17:49 PM
So more and more I'm finding myself asking someone else to swap into a Sabre, and time after time I'm realizing I should be the one flying a Sabre. So, I have an alt I'm training up, and with the new skill split I decided to go ahead and train up destroyers. I plan to bug cheeba for 100 destroyers of some kind and loose them all in RvB's FFA system. I have both a Thrasher and a Coercer fit that I plan to fly, but I have no experience flying a destroyer, as I've always been a cruiser or battlecruiser guy.

Obviously, I'm going to get a bit of experience loosing 100 of them, but what all do I need to know before hand or what tips can anyone give me?

the thing from the buzz buzz

prometheus
February 23 2013, 05:21:35 PM
9/10 times, avoid things bigger than frigates unless you're comfortable kiting for extended periods of time.

Dread Operative
February 23 2013, 05:26:02 PM
Beware ASs racial resists cause they will get you every time. You are a glass cannon, start off overheated but watch your heat with 8 guns.

Varcaus
February 23 2013, 05:33:26 PM
Stay the fuck away from condors

Cue1*
February 23 2013, 06:27:12 PM
9/10 times, avoid things bigger than frigates unless you're comfortable kiting for extended periods of time.

How extended? I used to fly the shit out of 100mn Lokis, Cynabals and Vagas(back in the day) so kiting isn't a new concept for me. I would assume I could engage most t1 cruisers as I'm faster and could kite them out.

Dread Operative
February 23 2013, 06:35:11 PM

How extended? I used to fly the shit out of 100mn Lokis, Cynabals and Vagas(back in the day) so kiting isn't a new concept for me. I would assume I could engage most t1 cruisers as I'm faster and could kite them out.

You are actually only slight faster then cruisers. With your signature and MWD bloom most cruisers will track you easy. Getting under their guns is the best bet.

Cue1*